Alumni Recognition

We honor our outstanding alumni

We are proud to recognize our O’Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs graduates who have distinguished themselves in their careers and who serve as accomplished role models for today’s O’Neill School students and the greater community as leaders for the greater good with a variety of awards, including the Distinguished Alumni Award.

Our 2022 Distinguished Alumni Award honorees


Christina Mendoza, BSPA'00

Christina Mendoza is a senior executive assistant at UScellular where she supports the chief people officer and diversity, equity, and inclusion team. She has also run her own wedding planning business, having coordinated and facilitated plans for over 100 couples. At the O’Neill School, Mendoza is an active member of the Alumni Board of Directors, mentors students, provides networking and job opportunities in the Chicago area, and supports the Women’s Empowerment Summit and Forum.


Andrew Recinos, MAAA'95

Andrew Recinos is the president and CEO of Tessitura Network, a nonprofit devoted to advancing the business of arts and culture through technology, services, and community. Prior to Tessitura, he served in a variety of roles in product management, fundraising, membership, and technology at several organizations. At the O’Neill School, Recinos is chair of the Distinguished Alumni Council, a member of the Center for Cultural Affairs advisory board, and a regular guest lecturer.

Nominate an alum

Undergraduate, master’s, and doctoral alumni are eligible for this award—the most honorable alumni distinction bestowed by the O’Neill School. Nominations are accepted on a rolling basis. Award winners are annually selected in early spring.

Submit a nomination

50 years at O'Neill